Society Just Doesn’t Get It….

It has been a couple days but with all the new shows starting that seems to be my focus. I am super busy with watching TV shows and also doing reviews for local theater and movies. I have been keeping busy with other life stuff and I have been unable to really think about myself or writing for my blog. I know that writing and working on my healing should be something that I am actively doing, but I guess living life is what it is all about so I am doing that, so that is what counts? I guess I am just scared that something from out of left field will come and knock me on my butt!

I watch a show called “Scandal” and absolutely adore it! I love Olivia Pope (Kerry Washington’s character) she is such a strong, determined, motivated woman. Despite the adultery, she is a rare female character on TV. This past week the premiere came on and she dealt with a woman who fought off an assailant. She had a speech where she said that “women don’t lie about stuff like this. When a man puts his hands on you, you don’t forget that…” it really hit me. I just had to nod my head yes because it is true. Yes there are things from when I was younger that I don’t exactly remember, but I remember it happening and from when I was older, I remember. I remember what it felt like, how I sounded, I remember and it has been almost six years and I still remember like it was yesterday.

It was nice to hear such words in the public forum, on a popular show, from a strong woman. I honestly believe that as well, that women don’t lie about something like this. There are women who do, but there is a greater statistic saying that women do not lie about being raped/assaulted. Why does society not believe this? Probably partly because of media and TV, because they make assault out to be the stranger in the alley, or the man with the knife and they don’t mention that it happens most often by a friend or someone the victim knows. Because to talk honestly about it would make it real, would make it seem like it could happen to anyone and people don’t’ want to face that reality. People don’t want to admit that they can be weak, overpowered and have no control.

To me it is a weakness in society. It is weak to blame the victim. It is ignorant to say that just because you wore this or went there that you were “asking” for it. That just because you knew them or you liked them or God forbid you even kissed them, that what happened after could honestly be rape! What would that mean? That would mean that people had to take responsibility for their actions. That people would have to stop making excuses. That people would have to see others and themselves as vulnerable and open. There are so many times that I just feel fed up and done with everyone and society in general and then I think that there might be hope. Maybe there are people that understand and see the truth for what it is…there needs to be more people like that. There needs to be more strong people speaking out about the truth of situations. Silence is what really is killing us as survivors and society. Silence only causes more pain….

Leave a comment